2834 Penn Ave, West Lawn, PA, 19609-1530 
610-670-5650
Full service,Eat in,Take out,Delivery
Chinese Food,Japanese

Business Hours:
Open 6 Days A Week
Monday Closed
Tue.:5:00pm-10:00pm
Wed.-Thurs.:11:00am-10:00pm
Fri.& Sat.:11:00am-10:30pm
Sunday:12:00noon-10:00pm
Restaurant Location
Major city
Number of Employees
51+
Average Price
$5.99-$7.99
Restaurant Type
Full service
Eat in
Take out
Delivery
Cuisine
Chinese Food
Japanese
Drinks
Beverage
Tea
Juices
Offers
Dine-in
Takeout
Parking
Public Parking Lot
Number of Seats

Ratings 12 people have voted

Awards and Honors

56AVG:(4.7)
55AVG:(4.6)
51AVG:(4.3)
48AVG:(4.0)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top100 Overall Excellence  (2008)
Top100 Chinese/Asian Fusion  (2008)

Comments(25)   

Reviewed by: caseyweiss92 on: 2018/3/25 17:01:33
Terrible service ! I’ve never experienced anything like it in my life. What was a small mix up about leftovers that we didn’t want to take home to begin with turned into our waitress getting loud at us and embarrassing us. They also got our orders wrong and forgot part of it. Still ended up paying for it because we didn’t want to argue with already unpleasant waitresses. Won’t ever be returning. Won’t ever recommend.
Reviewed by: caseyweiss92 on: 2018/3/25 17:01:00
Terrible service ! I’ve never experienced anything like it in my life. What was a small mix up about leftovers that we didn’t want to take home to begin with turned into our waitress getting loud at us and embarrassing us. They also got our orders wrong and forgot part of it. Still ended up paying for it because we didn’t want to argue with already unpleasant miserable waitresses. Won’t ever be returning. Won’t ever recommend.
Reviewed by: caseyweiss92 on: 2018/3/25 17:00:53
Terrible service ! I’ve never experienced anything like it in my life. What was a small mix up about leftovers that we didn’t want to take home to begin with turned into our waitress getting loud at us and embarrassing us. They also got our orders wrong and forgot part of it. Still ended up paying for it because we didn’t want to argue with already unpleasant miserable waitresses. Won’t ever be returning. Won’t ever recommend.
Reviewed by: jearnest4 on: 2018/1/26 17:12:46
Too slow for delivery, in fact, 2x longer than promised (45 mins vs. 1 1/2 hours). Kha Kai soup with shrimp had 2 shrimp in a quart serving. Valentine roll great... half of the sweet/sour sauce for the S/S chicken half spilled...over several years of loving this restaurants food, time has decreased the quality and service of one of our favorite restaurants.
Reviewed by: wc80s on: 2017/12/9 12:19:20
Long time customer but recently had an order mix up that was for an insignificant amount and their response was a very poor example of customer service and as a result we will not return. If they cared the issue could have been corrected on the spot with very little effort but they were more concerned with being right and they have lost a customer that ordered approximately 6-8 times a month.
Reviewed by: themom850 on: 2016-10-26
Don't let the outside of the building scare you away. The food was excellent, service was great and
Reviewed by: samanthadecker88 on: 2016-04-17
Is this Chinese place across from chef Allen's on Penn ave
Reviewed by: teknik909 on: 2014-05-26
This place is fantastic. Best food for miles around, sushi, Thai and Chinese. I LOVE this place.
Reviewed by: Randy S. on: 1/10/2014 11:40:34 AM
The Drunken Noodles blew me away. The Panang Curry was great as well. As far as the Chinese Dishes, I've also had the beef & broccoli, lo-mein, and wonton soup. Never had a bad dish here. The service kind of blows if you eat there (waitress passed us 4 times with an empty soda glass at the edge of our table and didn't offer a refill until I asked and we never got our check until we put our coats on and started walking towards the door). All this being said, you're better off with the take-out, but no matter what, you will enjoy the food.
Reviewed by: Angela B. on: 11/11/2013 10:31:48 AM
Came here with my daughter and really liked it! It had a cozy feel, and all the food was wonderful. Everything had huge portions and the prices were reasonable. We found a new great place right by our home. We had the tuna, California, and shrimp rolls, we loved them all! Zhangs also had great customer service.
Reviewed by: R. B. on: 8/7/2013 4:28:40 AM
The sushi was Ok. But honestly, the place is a dump. Overgrown weeds, unkept entry, dirty table cloths and filthy fish tank. The staff was friendly and sweet to my children. My 7 yr old wanted the sushi, but If the outside and dining area look this bad, what does the kitchen look like? I will try it again based on great reviews, but I would suggest take out or delivery.
Reviewed by: maxwell123 on: 2012-09-30
We have been going here for years for sushi. Always found it excellent except for today. I don't know if they changed their chef, ingredients or what but there was less fish, rolls fell apart, flavor just didn't seem fresh, etc. It was terrible! Tried to email them comments, but their website doesn't accept it.
Reviewed by: billybob19606 on: 2012-07-30
Hand down, this is the best place to get sushi!! LOVE it and keep going back...never a bad experience
Reviewed by: skybluebudgie on: 2012-06-06
We ate there today. There are many great Asian places in Berks County. But the Zhuang's Garden in Exeter was absolutely divine. The smokiest noodles and absolutely best Maki and Sashimi we have EVER had. One lunch special will feed you for 2 days. The Yaki Udon chicken and Red Curry chicken taste even better the second day.
Reviewed by: carlkne1959 on: 2012-04-19
I have been a sushi fan for over 30yrs. Tonight was the best presentaion, best taste, best service, and the freshest sushi i have ever had. It was all you can eat night!! I will continue to drive 34 miles in order to enjoy this establishment (each way)
Reviewed by: corynncusson on: 2012-02-25
My husband and I have had take-out sushi from there three times so far and are very satisfied with the taste and quality. Tonight we are finally able to dine in, just wish it was an AYCE night, lol.
Reviewed by: momscheirer1 on: 2012-01-17
My family has been to your restaurant in Exeter on several occassions, but never again! Very disappointing. There is one sushi chef who is amazing. But if he is not there it is the worst, like tonite. Gross presentation. Color of tuna was scary. I observed the sushi chef reading while making our dinner. It was a terrible experience We did tell the management , who offered to redo our order, but it was going to be prepared by the same sushi chef. No Thank you! You lost a good customer. And we will not help promote your new location. I felt we should have had our money refunded. $60.00 Sincerely dissatisfied
Reviewed by: wluck on: 2011-12-04
I travel across the country for work, and this Sushi and menu are always better than what I get in Seattle, DC, and NYC! Their Age Tofu is heaven, as are all the lovely succulent Sushi offerings. We love this place. Mr and Mrs Zhaung have provided consistantly fantastic food for our community for years, and I am so happy that they open another restaurant!
Reviewed by: miller13cbp on: 2011-12-01
Best sushi I have ever had. We don't even risk going anyplace else anymore. Everything is so fresh! This is my family's favorite place to eat out.
Reviewed by: lschwende on: 2010-04-16
BY FAR THE BEST SUSHI IN BERKS COUNTY! They have amazing specialty rolls, and you can't beat their all-you-can-eat sushi Sundays through Thursdays! My co-workers and I have made their sushi an absolute staple of our diets, ordering multiple times a week. And they deliver! Makes the work day/night so much better!
Reviewed by: Anonymous on:
The service is quick and friendly. The food is excellent. My wife and I get a take out dinner there pretty regularly. My favorites are: Mongolian Beef ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2000-06-15
been to the panda garden before and there food is also good and prices reasoniable, good affordable place that you can take the family, or to go have a quick lunch ...?
Reviewed by: Alison on: 2009-07-16
BEST sushi in the area and very price effective. I'm an advid sushi eater and I drive from ephrata to penn ave about once a week just to get sushi from here. The people are super friendly and it's like a mom and pop atomosphere. ...?
Reviewed by: Kevin Line on: 2009-07-23
The best sushi by far, the all you can eat sushi is an amazing deal, better bring your appetite! The owners, John and Mae have become like family. It's the best kept secret in Berks County. ...?
Reviewed by: ssp36 on: 2008-08-22
Zhuang's Garden is one of the best places for sushi in the world.